Covid-19 information

The board of Reykjavik Bear published the following statement on 14. August 2020
Reykjavík, 14. August, 2020.

Dear friends of Reykjavík Bear,

It is with a heavy heart that we are announcing the Cancellation of this year‘s Reykjavik Bear event, which was due to take place 3-6 September, 2020.

Please know that this has been done out of an abundance of care and that we have explored every possible means to continue with this year‘s event. However, the Government of Iceland has decided to impose more comprehensive border-screening measures as of 19 August. All arriving travellers will have to choose between a 14-day quarantine and a double testing procedure along with a quarantine for 4-5 days. Considering these new guidelines, the existing restrictions on gatherings and social distancing rules, it has become clear that we won‘t be able to deliver the experience that we want you to enjoy. It really wouldn‘t be safe or responsible to do so in light of the current situation.

We will now put all our energy into making sure we can welcome you in Reykjavík on 2-5 September, 2021.

If you hold an Event Pass or have made purchases in our online shop, you will receive an email with further information. Tickets for Reykjavík Bear 2021 will be available starting February.

We would like to thank you for your support leading up to this year‘s event, and for your patience during this time as we reached this difficult decision.

Stay safe and healthy.

The Reykjavík Bear Team

For further information on travel restrictions to Iceland please refer to the following website. is the official Covid-19 information page from the government of Iceland. There you can find information on all things related to Covid-19 and links to other relevant websites. There, you can also register for testing when arriving in Iceland. This registration is highly recommended if you plan on traveling to Iceland.

International Travel

Currently international travel is allowed and Iceland’s borders are open to all EU and Schengen states along with those countries deemed safe by the EU. These countries include Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. However all arrivals are subject to the travel restrictions imposed by the Icelandic government as stated before.

Please note that United States is not on the list and travelers with US passports may be denied entry.

For more complete information on international travel restrictions in place, please refer to the Directorate of Immigration website.


This page was last updated on 14. August 2020.
Details are current as of 14. August 2020.

Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.
Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.
Click to enable/disable Google Maps.
Click to enable/disable video embeds.
Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.